Frequently Asked Questions

Everything you need to know about SecureShare and how we protect your data.

End-to-End Encryption means your files are encrypted on your device before they are sent over the internet, and can only be decrypted by the intended recipient on their device. Not even SecureShare can read your files.
If you lose your recovery phrase and your browser data is cleared (or you try to log in on a new device), your files are permanently lost. Because we use a zero-knowledge architecture, we do not have a copy of your private key and cannot reset your password or recover your files for you.
Currently, SecureShare supports files up to 10MB per upload. You can upload up to 3 files at a time when sharing directly with a user.
Currently, both parties need a SecureShare account to exchange public keys and facilitate end-to-end encryption. The recipient can easily create a free account using Google or GitHub in seconds.
Yes, you can delete a shared file from your dashboard at any time. Because we host the encrypted blob, deleting it from our servers immediately revokes access for the recipient.
Yes, the core cryptographic implementation of SecureShare is open source and available for review on GitHub.